Stanislas Wawrinka and Li Na Are Winners of The 2014 Australian Open

Stanislas Wawrinka emerged from the shadow of the other Swiss man – tennis legend Roger Federer and upset #1 Rafael Nadal to win the 2014 Australian Open men’s singles championship. Big win for Wawrinka!

Swawrinka won AO

For Rafael Nadal, there would be no the14th Grand Slam championship. Nadal would not reach the famous American tennis player Pete Sampras for second place all-time and would not get closer to Roger Federer’s total of the 17 Grtand Slams.

Stanislas Wawrinka said after the victory that he was still dreaming. It is interesting fact, that in the previous 35 men’s Grand Slam singles finals, “Bif Four” – Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray –  won 34 times. It was also pleasure to know that Roger Federer called Wawrinka with congratulations.

On the women’s side, the former French Open champion and fourth-seeded Li Na defeated # 20 Dominika Cibulkova of Slovakia, 7-6, 6-0. It was her third attempt to win the Australian Open and she finally did it.

The Australian Open 2014 was the very strange Grand Slam tournament: inhumane  weather conditions, unpredictable results, strange behavior of the organizers and some players.

Share the article and follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Thank you!


Stanislas Wawrinka and Li Na Are Winners of The 2014 Australian Open — 1 Comment

  1. Nice match for Warrinka and this goes to show nothing is impossible even with the way tennis is going. However, I don thinl Nadal will never win any grandslam again, it doesn’t mean he can not still reach Sampras record of 14 GS or Federer 17 GS. It was a good match from both guys.